Skip to content

Guide

At-home clear aligner providers in the US

US at-home aligner companies compared on October 22, 2026: how you start, who reviews the plan, monitoring, published price, retainers and extra aligners, with the brands that have closed.

A man looking at a clear aligner held in both hands.

In the US in 2026, at-home aligners mean the plan is made from records you send, home impressions or a scan, and the trays are mailed to you, with check-ins by photo. None of the companies below requires an in-person examination before treatment, although you can arrange one with your own dentist. That is the main difference from Invisalign and other systems arranged through a dentist or orthodontist, which start with an examination in the office. This guide compares the current remote options in one table, dated October 22, 2026, and lists the brands that have closed.

What to compare before you choose

Separate four things. How records are collected: records are the impressions, scans and photos used to plan treatment. A home impression is a mold you take yourself; a scan records the same shape digitally. Whether anyone examines you: a dental examination checks your gums, roots and wider oral health, with X-rays where appropriate. A scan is not an examination. Who prescribes and monitors: a licensed dentist or orthodontist should approve the plan and review your progress photos. What the price includes: retainers, extra aligners and the impression kit are often where offers differ.

The FDA has not authorized any clear aligner for unsupervised direct-to-consumer use, and the American Association of Orthodontists says an in-person examination and appropriate X-rays are critical before treatment. Whether a remote route suits your teeth is a clinical decision; see what clear aligners can and cannot fix.

The remote options compared

Published information on October 22, 2026. Prices are full-time wear, both arches, unless stated. Smileie and AlignerCo showed only sale prices, and NewSmile a limited-time offer price beside a higher figure, so check their checkout price before you pay. These are examples of the market, not a ranking.

ProviderHow you startWho reviews the planMonitoringPublished priceRetainersExtra aligners
SmileieHome impressions or a scanLicensed US orthodontic teamProgress photos before each new trayNot confirmed outside a saleTwo sets includedWhere clinically appropriate, if you followed all instructions
AlignerCoHome kit ($29.99) or scan at a Smile Studio or partner clinicUS-licensed dentist or orthodontistTracker appNot confirmed outside a saleListed as included; number of sets not stated$250 if approved; request within 2 to 3 weeks of finishing
NewSmileHome kit, included in the plan ($29 on its own for a preview)Licensed dental teamPhotos every two weeksNot confirmed outside a saleSold separately, $119 to $179 a setUnclear: the refund policy says extra aligners may be free if you completed treatment as instructed, then says they cost extra
2USmileHome kit, includedOrthodontic specialist who designs and monitors the planPhone scans$1,195 on its order pageOne set includedFree if you followed instructions; request within 30 days of finishing
PearlsWhiteHome kit, mobile scan or in-clinic scanNot statedRemote$1,199, $1,299 or $1,399, depending on how impressions are taken (one arch $799 to $899)IncludedNot stated
SmileSetHome kit, included, or a free scan at a SmileStudioLicensed doctors prescribeTwo virtual visits with your prescribing doctor$1,395Sold separatelyNot stated

Some points the table cannot show:

  • Single-arch prices treat only the top or bottom teeth. Compare like with like.
  • Scope differs. Smileie, for example, says cases needing attachments or reshaping between teeth are not suitable for its treatment, which narrows the movements it can plan.
  • 2USmile' pages disagree. Its page title still shows $1,295, while the order page shows $1,195. Confirm the order total.
  • SmileSet says it is powered by SmileDirectClub's technology, but it is a separate company and SmileDirectClub itself has closed.
  • Smile Perfect publishes dollar prices in its US shop: daytime plans from $549 for one arch and $599 for both, with the impression kit and two retainer sets listed (checked October 26, 2026). Its homepage still mixes in pound prices and UK scan addresses, so confirm the plan and the dollar price in writing. More is in the Smile Perfect review.

The advantages and limitations of remote treatment

Remote companies cost much less than office treatment. The three providers in the table with prices outside a promotion publish $1,195 to $1,399 for both arches, and Smile Perfect's US shop lists daytime treatment for both arches from $599. Compare that with $2,999 for Motto's mild-to-moderate plan through Aspen Dental and several thousand dollars for Invisalign examples. In return, these services do not require an in-person examination before treatment, and plans made without attachments or reshaping between teeth, as Smileie's are, can treat a narrower range of problems. If something goes wrong, you deal with the company rather than a local office. How to read a fee, including insurance, FSAs and HSAs, is in the cost guide.

Clinic-led treatment

A large part of the market starts in a dental practice. Invisalign, CandidPro, Spark, ClearCorrect, Angel Aligner and Motto are arranged that way. Impress provides Invisalign through its own clinics. You book an evaluation, a clinician examines your teeth and takes a scan, and the aligners are worn at home afterwards, often with some remote check-ins. CandidPro, for example, has doctors review progress every one to two weeks, often virtually. The comparison of Invisalign and at-home aligners sets the two routes side by side.

Questions to ask any provider

  • Who is the dentist or orthodontist responsible for my plan, and in which state are they licensed?
  • How will my gums and roots be checked if the service does not examine me in person?
  • What is included: kit, retainers, extra aligners, whitening?
  • What are the conditions for free extra aligners, and the deadline to ask?
  • What can I get refunded if I stop at each stage?

Brands that are not current choices

SmileDirectClub stopped taking new customers when it wound down on December 8, 2023. Byte suspended new treatment on October 24, 2024. Candid closed its direct-to-consumer service in January 2022; CandidPro, its doctor-directed service, continues and starts with a visit. SnapCorrect has closed. Their histories are on the SmileDirectClub, Byte and SnapCorrect pages.

Any ranking that still leads with those names is out of date.

Individual reviews: Smileie, AlignerCo, NewSmile, 2USmile, PearlsWhite, SmileSet and Smile Perfect. The questions on the Aligners.co homepage filter providers by how you want to start.

Aligner Alerts

Not ready to decide yet?

Get an email when clear aligner providers change their prices or launch new offers. Occasional, and you can unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll email you to confirm. Your address is only used for Aligner Alerts and never passed to providers. Privacy

Sources

  1. Smileie. Homepage and prices (US)Accessed October 22, 2026
  2. Smileie. Refund and return policy (US)Accessed October 22, 2026
  3. AlignerCo. Homepage and pricesAccessed October 22, 2026
  4. AlignerCo. Refund policyAccessed October 22, 2026
  5. NewSmile. Day aligner plans (US)Accessed October 22, 2026
  6. NewSmile. Return policy and satisfaction guarantee (US)Accessed October 22, 2026
  7. 2USmile. PricingAccessed October 22, 2026
  8. 2USmile. 2U GuaranteeAccessed October 22, 2026
  9. PearlsWhite. PricingAccessed October 22, 2026
  10. SmileSet. Homepage and pricesAccessed October 22, 2026
  11. Aspen Dental. Motto clear aligners pricingAccessed October 22, 2026
  12. US Food and Drug Administration. Clear dental alignersAccessed October 22, 2026
  13. American Association of Orthodontists. Guidance for SmileDirectClub patients, December 14, 2023Accessed September 28, 2026